If you like us you might like...

See below some of our local and national friends and partners.

Association of Independent Libraries

The Association of Independent Libraries (AIL) was founded in 1989 to further the conservation, restoration and public awareness of a too little known but significant section of our cultural heritage. It aims to develop links between its constituent members by means of co-operative agreements, newsletters, social gatherings, seminars, workshops and meetings.

www.independentlibraries.co.uk 


The Glynne Arms

The Glynne Arms is a 200 year old traditional coaching inn at the heart of Hawarden village which has recently undergone a complete restoration inside and out, bringing it back to life. Its philosophy is simple; to provide a warm, relaxed pub environment and excellent food in the restaurant. The Glynne Arms takes its lead on food sourcing from its neighbouring sister business, The Hawarden Estate Farm Shop. Fresh fruit, vegetables and meat, poultry and game come from Estate farmers, and local Welsh and Cheshire-based producers supply relishes, jams, chutney, jellies, juices, ales and more. Visitors receive a warm welcome at all times, whether for a quick drink, a morning coffee or a meal… and dogs are positively encouraged. Open daily from 11am until 11pm (midnight on Friday and Saturdays).

www.theglynnearms.co.uk


The Good Life Experience

Image: Peter Fardoe

Now in its fourth year, The Good Life Experience on the Hawarden Estate is absolutely unique. Founded by four friends, if it fits in with their idea of The Good Life, it features at the festival; great locally produced food, axe throwing, campfire cooking, mass sing-a-longs, expert craftspeople, comedy, beer served by experts, talks by explorers, raucous music, abseiling, a 1930s fairground, butchery displays, poetry, literature, endless How To… talks. And everything is aimed at adults and children alike; there aren’t many festivals that truly do that. The festival has created a community of people eager to both learn and share skills, crafts and experiences and this year brought festival goers from as far afield as the Highlands of Scotland, Cornwall, the USA and even Cuba.

www.thegoodlifeexperience.co.uk


Hawarden Estate Farm Shop

Hawarden Estate Farm Shop is an award-winning farm shop set in 20 acres of farmed land in Flintshire. Its expert team grows, sources and sells the best food Britain has to offer, with much of the produce coming from within a 30 mile radius. Food with local provenance is key to what the Hawarden Estate Farm Shop offers, and customers are proud to support their local farmers. The Farm Shop also sources the best of what it can find from farther afield, curating produce from small, artisan businesses overseas who believe in real food and natural products with real passion. The Farm Shop boasts a multi-award winning butchery team which selects the best quality, locally reared meat, and a vibrant deli and café serving the best Allpress coffee. The Farm Shop is surrounded by 25acres of its own fields, orchards and woodlands, through which there is a signposted mile-long nature trail, and seasonal pick-your-own fruit and vegetables. There is also a popular traditional wooden play fort and a brand new adventure playground.

www.hawardenestate.co.uk


The Idler

The Idler is a magazine and a school. It started life in 1993 as the brainchild of journalist Tom Hodgkinson, who had the idea while reading a collection of essays by Dr Johnson with the same title. The Idler aims to bring fun, freedom and fulfilment to people everywhere with a bi-monthly journal, online courses and live events. It teaches a huge range of 'useless' subjects from taxidermy and harmonica to ukulele and ancient philosophy and has a healthy disrespect for corporate life and consumerism, preferring the world of books and beer. Recent cover stars include Louis Theroux and Cerys Matthews.

www.idler.co.uk


The London Library

Based in the heart of Piccadilly, The London Library is a literary institution like no other. The range and quality of the collection, the freedom to browse 17 miles of book stacks, and the refined, intellectual ambience make The London Library truly special. 

With peace and quiet in the Reading Rooms, and access to over a million books, periodicals and manuscripts covering every aspect of the arts and humanities, The London Library is the perfect place to read, research and write. 

www.londonlibrary.co.uk


Seriously Sentences

Writing group which meets every third Monday for an evening of good coffee and creativity in the august surroundings of Gladstone’s Library.  This is a well-established group aiming to offer support and encouragement to everyone who enjoys writing. There are no entry criteria other than a love of words. Submissions are circulated a week before to allow time for reflection and then discussed, anonymously, during the meeting. All forms of writing welcomed. Share your work and offer feedback on others’. 

Contact Fiona on 07799711711 for more details.

www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100009104803885


Slightly Foxed

Slightly Foxed is the lively literary magazine for people who don't want to read only what the big publishers are hyping and the newspapers are reviewing. Companionable, entertaining and elegantly produced, Slightly Foxed puts its readers in touch with a world of interesting and often forgotten books. Within its striking covers (usually specially commissioned from British artists) its readers discover recommendations for good reading written by booklovers, from celebrated authors, up-and-coming writers, librarians and booksellers, to the general public. What all its contributors have in common is a passion for a particular book or author that they love. Printed in England by traditional craftsmen printers, Slightly Foxed strikes a blow for lasting quality in content and presentation.

Gladstone's Library Friends receive a 10% discount off all Slightly Foxed subscriptions (or gift subscriptions) plus a free jute book bag. Click here to find out about becoming a Friend of Gladstone's Library. Already a Friend? Contact amy.sumner@gladlib.org to redeem this offer.

Slightly Foxed subscribers receive 10% off every stay at Gladstone’s Library! Please see here for full Terms & Conditions.

www.foxedquarterly.com


Theatr Clwyd

Clwyd Theatr Cymru is Wales’ major drama producing operation, originally built as a Regional Arts Centre. It is home to a highly-acclaimed producing company, which also presents much of its work on tour throughout Wales and the rest of the UK. The company produces mainly in English, but also in Welsh.

www.theatrclwyd.com


Village Hotel, St David's Park

Just down the road in neighbouring village Ewloe is St David's Park Village Hotel. Its gym is one of the best you’ll find in the whole area. Serious equipment, a great pool, fully-qualified staff and a great timetable of fitness classes.

Residents of Gladstone's Library have special access to the leisure facilities at St David's Park Village Hotel for just £5 per day. Please ask at Reception during your stay for further details.

www.village-hotels.co.uk